Our Governing Body 

STM & RSJ Joint LGB Membership

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school.  A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’, to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works closely in partnership with the Headteacher, staff and representatives from St. Mary’s Academy Trust. Whilst the Headteacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors make an essential contribution to the life of the school.  They work together to provide the strategic direction for the school.  It ensures that school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.  As the school is a church school, the Governing Body also works to ensure that the Christian ethos of the school is upheld.

Since December 2020, there has been a joint Governing Body for St. Mary’s Primary School and Royston St. John Baptist Primary School.  This is another school within St. Mary’s Academy Trust, and the two school share an Executive Headteacher.

Who are we?

The Governing Body consists of:

Mr Lee Spencer – Executive Headteacher (ex – officio)

Ms Lynn Greenfield – Chair (expires 7/12/24)

Ian Simpson – Vice Chair and Trust Governor (expires 7/12/24)

Aimee Kite – Trust Governor (expires 7/12/24)

Fr. Craig Tomlinson – Trust Governor (expires 7/12/24)

Fr. Jay Hewitt – Observer

We have vacancies for two parent Governors

The next step for the Governing Body is to appoint two new parent Governors, one for each school but with a clear expectation that they are fully engaged and involved in the governance of both schools.  This will be done early in the Summer Term 2021.

The standard term of office is 4 years.  The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The Chair of Governors is Lynn Greenfield, who can be contacted via the school office or directly via email atl.greenfield@smat.org.uk

The Governing Body meets six times each year.  They discuss all aspects of the school including finance, building, staffing, curriculum, health and safety and safeguarding.  Each governor has areas of responsibility, which they carry out at both schools, e.g. curriculum, Maths, Literacy, RE and Collective Worship.

Senior Leaders from both schools also attend meetings as observers.  They contribute to the meetings to further inform Governors of the day to day running of the school as well as school self-evaluation.  Other staff attend the meeting, when appropriate e.g. to feedback on the strengths and next steps for development in their areas of responsibility.


Business Interests

Register of business interests 20119-20

Register of business interests 20121-21

Register of Business Interests 21-22

Register of Business Interests 22-23


Local Governing Body Attendance Record

Attendance – 2019-20

STM & RSJ Joint LGB- attendance register 2020-21

STM-RSJ joint – LGB attendance 21-22

STM & RSJ Joint LGB Attendance 22-23